Skip to content

Being an Entrepreneur in the Corporate World

November 13, 2011

It’s an interesting thing . . . being an entrepreneur in the corporate world.  I’ve always been one, but never really knew it until a few years ago.  In past work positions, my resume was looked at closely by the hiring manager & the same question was always asked, “So, why have you only stayed at these companies for 2 or 3 years? Why have you moved around a lot?”

There was no magic answer of course, but I always responded with, “I outgrew the company & what they were able to offer me by way of challenges.”  I’m pretty good with words, but what I understand now about my 10+ stint in the corporate world is that I am (& have always been) an entrepreneur-style worker.

I’ve always thought like one (improving/trouble-shooting/creating), I just never knew how this could work to my benefit in my own business.  Now, after working with over 100 small business owners I can confidently declare that the predictor of success is THEIR ability to think like an entrepreneur as well.

As the owner of a small business, I fully understand that no one else is making decisions for me.  That’s why I have to stay abreast of the social media trends — & if Sunday is the day when I have time to do this, then so be it!  If a client needs more reassurance than usual & it requires a response after business hours, I will do it.  If I’m only needed for an hour or 2, because that’s what their budget allows for – I’m happy to be of help in any way I can.

People hire me because they trust me to lead them in the right direction with social media.  & because it’s clear that I am passionate about working with clients to teach them how to do it themselves. My background at numerous businesses definitely helped me get to where I am today, & for that, I am grateful.

I don’t think I’ll ever be happy working in a cubicle ever again.  Now, an office?  Well – that would certainly be worth considering . . . for a company that I am passionate about & a location that makes sense for me.  For now, I continue to be an entrepreneur here in Jackson Hole, helping businesses with their online success.  Working for yourself may be a lot of work, but my workdays are enjoyable & fulfilling because of my many different clients!

Cheers!
Rose Caiazzo of Rose Consulting, LLC
Discover the Power of Social Media.
http://www.rosecllc.com

About Me:  http://about.me/rosec
FaceBook:  http://www.facebook.com/roseconsulting
Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/roseconsulting
LinkedIn:  http://www.linkedin.com/in/roseconsultingllc
Skype:  rosecllc

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

