Skip to content

Know Your FB Privacy Controls!

May 20, 2010

FaceBook has quite a few controls in place for your privacy, however, most of them automatically opt you IN to low/no privacy.  Plus, they are constantly changing the rules & many people feel it’s just too complicated to manage.  As a result, people don’t make these important changes & they forget over time that their privacy is being compromised.

Below is a quick guide, so anyone can easily understand & manage what I believe the top 4 important FaceBook privacy controls are.  These tips will help you to secure your personal account (although there are many other privacy controls you can change).  & remember, these tips don’t apply to Business Pages, because people that “Like” your business page cannot access your personal account.  Nonetheless, privacy is important for our personal accounts so check these out —

Happy “opting-out” folks!

 

Blocking Instant Personalization

  • Click the down arrow of the ACCOUNT tab (located to the right on your FB page)
  • Select “Privacy Settings” & then “Applications and Websites”
  • Click the EDIT button at the very bottom of the page next to “Instant Personalization Program.”
  • At the bottom of that page, uncheck the box that says “Select partner websites may use information I’m sharing with everyone to automatically personalize my experience.
  • Confirm setting

 

Avoid Being Tagged in Photos & Videos

  • Click the down arrow of the ACCOUNT tab (located to the right on your FB page)
  • Select “Privacy Settings” & then “Friends, Tags and Connections”
  • Click the drop down arrow box to the right of “Photos & Videos of Me”
  • Select CUSTOMIZE
  • Select ONLY ME under “Make this visible to these people”
  • Save the setting

 

Keep Your Friendships Private

Sometimes it’s good to turn off your friends’ visibility to others. I’ve recently had several people visit my profile & selectively pick off “friends” that are relevant to them for marketing purposes, or other reasons.

  • Click the down arrow of the ACCOUNT tab (located to the right on your FB page)
  • Select “Privacy Settings” & then “Friends, Tags and Connections”
  • Click the drop down arrow box to the right of “Friends”
  • Select CUSTOMIZE
  • Select ONLY ME under “Make this visible to these people”
  • Save the setting

 

Limiting What Your Friends Can Share About YOU

  • Click the down arrow of the ACCOUNT tab (located to the right on your FB page)
  • Select “Privacy Settings” & then “Applications and Websites”
  • Click the EDIT SETTINGS button  next to “What Your Friends Can Share About You.”
  • Uncheck everything!
  • Click SAVE CHANGES button

 

Cheers!
Rose Caiazzo of Rose Consulting, LLC & Rose Recordings, LLC
The Art of Voice. The Power of Social Media.
http://www.rosecllc.com

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: