Skip to content

Purposeful Messaging

April 1, 2010

 

The messages I read always have a purpose.

I’m aware that every word passing through my lips can make an impact on someone. Respecting words and understanding their power is part of my responsibility as a voice over artist. 

More often than not, the script involves words where I’m able to easily encourage & empower others.  However, there’s always a slim chance that a client gives you something that’s considered questionable.  Material that can make you feel uneasy — like ads that are of a religious tone, overly political, bash a person or business, or sexually suggestive.  Or it may be something you just don’t believe in & never will.

I’m careful about this, because my reputation in voice over is on the line.  Those who are listening to my words may also be influenced by the message I’m relating.  Communicating effectively is important, but being choosy about the performances I agree to do is even more crucial sometimes.

Voice artists can without a doubt, either support or destroy with their words . . .
I prefer to be ethical with my choices!

Cheers!
Rose Caiazzo of Rose Consulting, LLC
The Art of Voice. The Power of Social Media.
http://www.rosecllc.com

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Respecting Words! «

Leave a Reply

